Student Affairs

Print PDF

Professor 'Yemi Akegbejo-Samsons
Dean, Student Affairs


The Student Affairs Unit is under the Vice-Chancellor’s Office.  It was created in January, 1988 out of the defunct Provost’s office of the old College of Science and Technology, Abeokuta.  The Division is headed by the Dean, Student Affairs, Professor 'Yemi Akegbejo-Samsons who is a member of the University Senate and is also responsible to the Vice-Chancellor for the day-to-day running of the Division.  The Division also has a Student Affairs Officer,  who oversees the administrative activities.  The Division oversees the welfare of students including Undergraduate and Postgraduate of the University.

Philosophy and Objectives

In order to ensure the teaching, research and extension mandates of the University, the Student Affairs Unit strives to maintain peace and harmony on the campus by focusing mainly on students’ welfare, union activities and hostel management.  It ensures that students, irrespective of their religion, race or political affiliations, are treated equally and are found worthy in character as they pursue their legitimate academic aspirations.

Structure of the Unit

In actualizing the enormous tasks mentioned above, the Unit has the following sections under it:

i.    Student Affairs Office
ii.    Sports Division
iii.    Hostels (male and Female)
iv.    Scholarship, Bursary and related matters
v.    National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) matters
vi.   Secretariat, Student Disciplinary Committee

Updates on FUNAAB Students' Union (FUNAABSU) Supreme Student Ruling Cabinets Election